Can I build my own long range rifle?

Ok Rokslide, I have been looking at long range rifle parts for weeks now, actions, triggers, barrels etc.

Long story short I kinda want to build my own rifle!

Is there any reason that I cant purchase an action and a drop in barrel with some tools and the proper go/nogo chamber indicators and make it work? I looked for info on this topic but it seems the vast majority use a gunsmith to build them a rifle. What am I missing here? What about the process is so technical that it requires a gunsmith. Please help me, I love to build things, Im really good with my hands and mechanics but I am a total newb to long range rifles.

Thx

Mag_7s

WKR
A 2nd to what Wildwilderness said, you absolutely can. If it's a long rang rifle I would start with what bullet you want to shoot. I would inquire with the prefit barrel manufacturer on their reamer specks and how the chamber will be throated. I tend to pick a little faster twist than what the bullet requires. Also make sure that the action you choose is one they prefit for. I would suggest buying a barrel vice, and an action wrench specific to your action. Defently get the go/no go head space gauge.
What is the cartridge, action and barrel you are interested in?

Dco243

FNG