Budget Rifle setup

Liu_YS

FNG
I am new to hunting and looking to buy my first rifle. Any suggestions on good rifle and scope I can get for around $500 each?

I'm looking at hunting whitetail, mule deer, and possibly elk.

Thanks in advance.

bsnedeker

WKR
I don't know much about scopes at that price range, but I've been pretty happy with my Savage Axis rifle...lots of savage rifles under that price point. If you can stretch your budget just a TINY bit you absolutely cannot go wrong with a Tikka T3X which can be had for around 600. Personally I would go that route...the fit, finish, and function of that rifle are absolutely amazing for the price in my opinion.

As a newbie who I'm assuming hasn't shot rifle's a whole lot I would probably steer you towards a 6.5 creedmore as your caliber of choice. Recoil is very reasonable and ammo is plentiful.

Have fun and shoot a lot!

Superdoo

WKR
If you want to buy new, the mossberg patriot line gets pretty good reviews for a very low price tag. It will even come with a scope. Not a great one, but it’ll get you shooting.
Savage’s as stated above would be a good option too. Handle both and see which fits you better.

Welcome. Lots of options to choose from. Folks around here spend a lot (perhaps too much) money on gear So while their advice is solid, if you really want to stick to your budget, it may not apply.

savage axis, Mossberg and ruger American make package deals that would suit and are in that price range. I like the savage in that grouping. My one ruger American is ugly, feels cheaply made and shoots quite well.

used is another route. A tikka t3 is a hell of a fun and can be found well below your price point. Add a $100 3-9x or fixed power Nikon scope and you would have a good set up.

save some $ for ammo and practice. 270 would do it. 308 and 6.5 cm would be fine. Anything bigger and the bullets just cost more $$. for your use I wouldnt look at any caliber I couldn’t buy at Walmart or anything bigger than 30-06