Budget Backpacking Tent

gallion_t

FNG
Hi all,

I am looking go get into backpack camping and hunting. Over the last couple years I have pieced together all of the gear except for a tent. Ive decided to start with a fully enclosed 2 person tent as it will be mostly solo trips and occasionally my girlfriend joining.

Since I have never done this before im not looking for a cross between light weight, reliable, and affordable. Thinking under $250 new or used.

I have been eyeing the kelty late start 2 as it seems to be one of the lighter options in the price range and has great reviews. Are there any others out there I should be considering or higher end ones that I could get used in this price? I've been watching the classifieds but it seems the top of the line stuff is more common there.

Rob5589

WKR
I use a Kelty Salida 2 and have no complaints. I would call it a 1.5 person unless you have two smaller people on standard size pads. Lots of room for 1, large pad, and gear, however. Under 200 dollars.

OP
G

gallion_t

FNG
Thanks for the reply. I believe the late start replaced the salida as it seems to be discontinued and they have similar specs. At $160 it seems to have some great features and reasonable price.

JRMiller

WKR
For a few ounces lighter than the kelty and half the price could look at a RCP Trekker 3.
Will have more space too, plenty of room for two hunters with all packs/equipment inside.

OP
G

gallion_t

FNG
Thanks. I haven't looked at that one yet. How does it do in weather?

Nitsua

FNG
Take a look at the alps mountaineering mystique. It is a stout tent for the price. It’s not as light as a trekking pole tent, but it hasn’t let me down. I would personally steer clear of trekking pole tents. The extra pound or two of weight is well worth the peace of mind of not having to worry about coming back to camp to a collapsed tent and a drenched sleeping bag... ask me how I know...

OP
G

gallion_t

FNG