BP Hunt Logistics Question

Okie_Poke

FNG
I cashed in my CO elk points for a Muzzleloader tag this September. I've hunted deer here in OK with a muzzleloader several times, but never done any big hunt with one. Also, I've hunted elk in CO or NM the last five years with a rifle or bow, so I'm not a complete noob to western elk hunting. Still, I'm not exactly an elk hunting prodigy. I'm pretty familiar with the unit, having hunted it four times previously. I just haven't hunted it with a muzzleloader yet.

My question centers on logistical issues specific to muzzleloaders. Primarily, how long can I leave the powder and bullet in the muzzleloader and trust it? I'll be using BH 209 and 300 gran Thor Hammers. I plan to tape the muzzle with electric tape or one of those barrel condoms as I do with a rifle. I would prefer to leave the thing loaded up for all or most of the week, if I can get away with that. But if I get an opportunity on the last day, I want it to go bang. I've heard one can leave them loaded but should store them outside overnight so they don't get condensation in the warm tent.

Relatedly, are there other muzzle-loader specific logistics issues I should be thinking about and planning for? If there is a particularly good article or video or something, please point me to it. I've done some looking but haven't found exactly what I'm looking for.

This will be a "base camp at the truck and day hunt" style hunt. I'm planning to keep full cleaning gear and basic maintenance tools at camp. Besides a few reloads and the necessities for reloading. What else BP-specific should be in my day pack?

Your experience on this would be much appreciated.

Wow sounds exactly like me, been gun hunting the last 5 years going to due a muzzle loader hunt this year in CO. Look forward to any answers.

I'll be using BH209 and 340 grain ELDX's. Shooting great so far at 50 yards bullets touching) need to go to 100. Hope my old eyes and open sights can still shoot 100+ yards!!!!!