Bino Harness what am I doing wrong?

NXTZ

Lil-Rokslider
So I understand the popularity/purpose of the whole Bino Harness thing, but I have struggled to find one that works for me/my style of hunting. I’m pretty new to this, first gen hunter if you will, so I’ll preface this by stating my ignorance/inexperience. I only bowhunt, and in the near future will only be hunting Oregon and possibly north Idaho (think thicker timber/limited glassing opportunities). I’m not picky, and will try to make a shot/stalk on the first legal critter I have a tag for. Just trying to build my experience now, no thinking about score or size.

With that being said, I am struggling with the application of my binos in the field. I do like having them accessible and protected, but I just don’t find myself using them a ton while in the thick stuff calling/still hunting. Seems like a lot of unnecessary movement. If there’s a critter within sight, I’m reaching for my range finder, not thinking about binos. So I guess I don’t need “immediate, silent” access to them, just my range finder.

The main pain point I’ve experienced with every system I’ve tried is that they are all strappy cluster***ks, and layering up or down becomes a pain in the ass dealing with the harness. I have streamlined some clothing choices, so I hope that layering will be less of an issue, but every one I’ve tried is annoying to don/doff in a hurry. Again, in my ignorance, this may be a NON issue and I shouldn't be screwing around with layers in the field so much anyway.