Best All Around Bag?

Bdouble

FNG
After reviewing dozens of sleeping bags (Temp Rating, Down vs. Synthetic, Weight, etc) Im feeling a little sleeping bag fatigue.
Im not sure what the best all around option would be. I am new to back-country hunting and am looking for some advice on the best sleep system that you've all used in 1-2 day pack hunts but can scale up to 6-8 day base camps.

Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

tdot

WKR
What temps do you expect?

Everyone's answer is gonna be different. There is no one perfect bag.

I would suggest you figure out the following first:

How warm do you sleep?

What temp ratings do you expect? Highs to lows? Expected precip levels?

Will you sleep in clothes to increase a a bags rating?

What's your tent/tarp situation?

How do you value a)weight b) packability c) roominess d)price

Your experience in the backcountry?

Asking all these questions will help guide you into a family or type of bag... ie. Quilt, mummy, down, synthetic, etc.

I've found a 5 degree down bag and both a synthetic and down 30 degree quilt are just about perfect for everything I do. But they definitely wouldn't work for others.

Where are you going to hunt? Temps and weather? What’s your budget? How tall and heavy are you?

Decide on down vs synthetic. General rule of thumb:

- Down - lighter, more expensive, less good if damp or wet
- Synthetic - heavier and less compressible, cheaper, dries faster

North face cats meow for $150 is a lot of bag for the money.
Western mountaineering badger is also great but is over $500

Lots of options in between.

Once you fine tune you needs people can offer better suggestions.

Keep in mind you are going to need a good sleeping pad. I would say something like a thermarest xtherm is the way to go for all around use.

OP
B

Bdouble

FNG