Bear Habitat

BowBaboon

FNG
Hi all,

I’m new to bear hunting and have a few questions regarding habitat.

I hiked in to a spot yesterday that had plenty of south facing slopes with tons of rocks on those faces. In addition, there is a decent amount of green grass (for 8200’) with some wildflowers poking through.

The only issue is there aren’t many trees nearby. I think the closest trees are about a half mile away from these faces. Should I be looking in places with closer proximity to the trees or does the timber cover not matter?

Thanks

Agc05

FNG
I ran into a black bear on the muzzleloader deer hunt on the Plateau-Fishlake unit one year. I was walking down a trail with my brother-in-law for the evening hunt. He had recently moved here from California and did not have a tag, gun, or much exposure in the outdoors at that time. A doe bounded out of a clump of thick brush down below the trail. I heard some rustling down in the brush and thought there might be another deer down there, perhaps a buck.

I told my brother-in-law to circle around below the brush and to make noise so that whatever was in the brush would move my way. Meanwhile, I started sneaking down toward the brush. When I got down there I heard a rustling noise and realized that the animal was close. I slipped around some thick brush and there was a great big black bear not ten yards from me!

My legs turned to jello at this point. They say bears are more afraid of you than you are of them. That's bull! This bear just stared me down. I pointed my gun at the bear and backed away slowly. I spoke to the bear in a soft voice, "It's OK, bear. Don't charge, bear. I have a gun, you have claws and teeth; it would't end well. Just stay riiiiiight there, bear." All the while speaking softly and backing away.

Anyway, I made my way back up to the trail and I started walking down the trail, glad to be alive. Suddenly I realized that I had forgotten my brother-in-law and that he was sneaking in on a bear!