Bare shaft thoughts

Clarson757

Lil-Rokslider
Classified Approved
So I’ve been hunting since 2019 with a compound. I went off the deep end and built my own arrows and have had 100% harvest/ shot rate.

I did not bare shaft tune my previous/ current setup. Just bought shafts, cut them to the same length and fletched. This summer I decided that I would start the process over but I wanted to bare shaft. I’m not planning on hunting with a different setup this season however wanted to get an idea of what I’d build for next season.

I’m wondering how much of this is the bow out of tune (just got new strings and full “tune” last month). How much of this is arrow selection? How much of this is me being human and not a perfect shot? Or, some combination of it all.

I shot full length shafts, cut shafts, different point weight, you name it. EVERYTHING was tearing nock-right. I tried shafts from 400-250. Point weights from 100-300. Paper tune at 5 yards showed consistent right tears. I began to assume my rest was not in alignment (trusting that everything was good from a recent overhaul at the shop).

Even when I picked up my bow at the shop, they said it had a slight right tear with a fletched arrow I left with them. They asked if it was sighted in with broadheads and I said yes. I sight my pins to my broadheads.

It took about 1.5 hrs on paper at 5 yards, target at 7 yards and every movement of my rest, I saw an improvement in the tears. My question is, am I tuning the bow to my arrow or my arrow to the bow or a happy medium? Seems like with this exercise, anyone could make their bow shoot any arrow. How much of that adjusting compromises arrow flight vs what is truly performing? Am I masking poor performance somehow?

Attachments

• IMG_0438.jpeg
    IMG_0438.jpeg
    364.5 KB · Views: 22
  • IMG_0443.png
    IMG_0443.png
    1.6 MB · Views: 22
  • IMG_0444.png
    IMG_0444.png
    1.4 MB · Views: 20
  • IMG_0445.png
    IMG_0445.png
    1.6 MB · Views: 19
Last edited: