Ballistic calculators and environmental measuring

I've been using the strelok pro app for a few years now and really like it, but have always ball parked environmental numbers.

In efforts to manage a few more variables, I'm thinking about getting a kestrel 3000 for the sole purpose of measuring temp, pressure, humidity, and wind, to input into strelok.

Then comes the conundrum of now having to rely on two devices in the field. Not the end of the world. But for $50 more the kestrel 2700 has a built in ballistics calculator (skeptical of its ease of use compared to strelok), and for alot more money they make a few better ones, then throw in the option of range finders with ballistics calculators, and down the rabbit hole we go.

So im curious, what is everyone using for a ballistics calculator and environmental measuring?

Last edited:
Unless you're hunting out past something like 2000, the difference between a ballpark temp, pressure and humidity and to the degree/ .01" Hg is beyond irrelevant. Run the ballistics chart, and see how far off you'd be if you guess it's 50*, but it's 53, have the nearby pressure of 29.91 and it's really 29.90 20 miles away where you are.

Strelok can pull weather from internet using this button… I know there isn’t always cell service in the field though. 35678ED3-391A-48A2-BC72-BAFA8048AF3F.jpeg

Density altitude is the short cut for environmental inputs and the kestrel 5000 is the lowest model that does density altitude. That’s what I went with.

Density altitude is the short cut for environmental inputs and the kestrel 5000 is the lowest model that does density altitude. That’s what I went with.
You can also do with a multitude of apps or the calculator on your phone.
Strelok is in fact doing this for you when you enter the environmentals.

You can also do with a multitude of apps or the calculator on your phone.
Strelok is in fact doing this for you when you enter the environmentals.