Back to Compound. New Bow needed.

applepie_eli

Lil-Rokslider
I've been shooting recurve for the last 5 or 6 years. While I enjoy it, I am ready to try a compound bow again. I haven't shot a compound since I was 15 probably, and that was an old 90s Hoyt. Looking for a new bow under $600 if I can. I was originally thinking something like a Bear Whitetail Legend 2 since those seem to be popular at my local shop. But then I came across the Prime Logic on closeout for $450 online from a reputable website. It's available in every draw length and every camo pattern (I don't really care about that) but only available in #60 draw weights. I'm a bigger guy but that doesn't mean I'm real strong...my recurve is #44 pounds and that feels about right for a recurve for me. Ideally I'll go try some out at a shop but before I do I'd like some more opinions.

So 3 questions.

1. What would be the better bow? A prime logic (I think it's 2018 model) or a new Bear Whitetail Legend?

2. Is 60# going to be enough draw weight for a 6' 250 pound guy?

3. Would either of these be good first bows or should I be looking elsewhere?

1. Which ever you like better really. They are both great bows from good companies. Personally I'd take the Prime hands down all day every day but that's just me, something about Bear compounds I just don't like and I've been considering a Prime for my next bow.

2. Yes.

3. Both of those are great bows! Almost every major manufacturer has a bow in your price range, if you have a shop you can go to I'd just try out all the bows you can in your budget. There's not really a "bad" bow from the big name companies, it's just about personal fit and what you like.

Edit: don't rule out used. You can find lots of good deals on used bows, especially those in your budget because the mid-tier bows tend to have a wide range of draw weight and length adjustability (e.g. the Bowtech Convergence)

Sent from my SM-G996U1 using Tapatalk