Alkaline batteries in trail cam???

Quattro

FNG
I'm a newbie when it comes to trail cams. I recently received a trail cam as a gift, and am in the process of setting it up. The manufacturer mentions using AA lithium batteries. I know lithiums are preferred, but are there issues with using alkaline batteries, especially if I'll only be using the camera for photos (no video)?

OP
Q

Quattro

FNG
Good point. I have experienced a few leaking batteries in the past, but they seem to be limited to batteries that were not either Energizer or Duracell. For example, Costco batteries, imo, leak like crazy.

I'm all for using lithiums, it's just that I have a stockpile (like 100+) of unused alkalines.

JohnnyB

WKR
If you will have access to the camera frequently, you can always give it a try and swap them out in a few weeks if you have any problems.

My cameras all work fine with both but I need lithium to keep them operational during the periods they are inaccessible due to snow (Nov-July).

They work but just say NO. After years of messing with cameras and experiencing about every issue possible, I just opt for lithium. They work all season, stay working in the cold, don't leak, and eliminate another thing that can go wrong. nothing worse that going in to check a camera during the rut when intel is important and the camera is dead.
I buy EBL in bulk on ebay so price is tolerable.

WoodBow

WKR
I run cheap rayovacs in all of mine. Zero issues. I will get almost a full year out of them in a cell cam on relatively low volume trails. In traditional cameras they can go over a year. YMMV

I'm a newbie when it comes to trail cams. I recently received a trail cam as a gift, and am in the process of setting it up. The manufacturer mentions using AA lithium batteries. I know lithiums are preferred, but are there issues with using alkaline batteries, especially if I'll only be using the camera for photos (no video)?

No issue until one ruptures and leaks acid all in the camera.