Alaska Spring Bear 2022

Group of guys looking to go to Alaska on a spring black bear hunt in 2022 With not having a tag for Kuiu or POW looking to go to Price William Sound (Whittier). Would like to do a boat based hunt that we can also fish. Wondering if anyone has some recent experience with bear numbers in the Prince William Sound in the past couple years. Also wondering if there are any transporters anyone would recommend. We are thinking the 3-4th week in May as the best time to go.

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks!

Arctic_Beaver

Lil-Rokslider
I'll add my .02 here. From my experience hunting outer PWS, the past two years I have seen good bear numbers. Last year was the best I can recall, 12-14 bears in two nights of hunting during the first week of June. Some of that can also probably be attributed to learning the country better, and finding which beaches/flats have better activity.

I've been hunting black bears for about 4-5 years in PWS now for reference. So I don't have any firsthand experience on what the hunting was like in the "heyday" prior to the Whittier tunnel opening, and what ultimately lead to a decrease in the black bear population and making this a registration hunt. If you are planning on booking with a transporter, they will likely have the capability to get further away from Whittier, where you see most of the local pressure. You might also consider looking into transporters/outfitters in Valdez, Cordova, or even Homer (although not PWS). Transporters from any of these towns can likely offer a great combo fishing/hunting experience. I know there are several to pick from out of Homer.

I know everyone likes pictures, so here's a couple bears from the "heyday" of PWS black bear hunting. Prince William Sound is one of my favorite places in the world, but I stopped hunting it because I was tired of my shrimp pots being robbed and the insane number of boats and hunters that has proliferated out there.