50k Preparation…how do you know?

JD Jones

WKR
I’ve got it in my head that by 40, I will run a 100 mile mountain race. I’ve been running consistently for 2 years and just recently I’ve been running with more intentionality. Before I jump into a big mile race I’m going to have an inch-stone goal before 39 to do a 50k.

My question is: how do you know you’re ready? What’s a respectable pace to maintain and not get kicked off the course? Any New Mexico or Utah races to look at that won’t murder a 1st timer with elevation?

I’m older now and purposely carry a little more muscle mass than typical for runners (209 at 5’11”)so that’s also in the back of my mind as a possible factor that serves to slow but I want to do this and maintain overall strength along the way

D S 319

WKR
what would Goggins do?

Really no advice, But those muscles take a lot of oxygen, make sure your cardiovascular is tip top shape. Worst case if you have to walk a bit the main thing is finishing. You’re only racing against yourself!

GotDraw?

WKR
I spent 3yrs as a successful ultra-distance cyclist. I was legs, lungs and gristle during that time.

I have one observation for you. Running a 50mi or 100mi event and finishing successfully are extremely specific events and require a long-term training program targeted toward success.

Odds are very high that you will NOT get hurt during the event, you will fail and break down due to the repeated stress of training for over a year. Your extra body weight will kill you, period. If you want to be an ultra athlete, look at the bodies of those that are consistent, successful finishers and emulate them.

There's a reason you don't hear them saying they have a goal of squatting 400lbs for reps at their BMI and weight.