.308 federal fusion and elk

Grapeape

FNG
Hello! I’ve read a ton of great information on this forum. There seems to be a lot of experience floating around here.

I have a question related to my most recent elk hunt.

I live in central Washington near Ellensburg. I’m an opportunistic hunter more than anything. I have young kids and a farm and a full time job. I’m self taught. For better or worse, I learn by fire.

This year I filled a damage tag for and antlerless elk. I’ve gotten 7 this way, and never during general season! My employer gets tags! Real perk of the job.

This year I bought a .308 browning ab3. It’s great! I’ve been hunting with a browning a bolt 2 in .300 win mag. I wanted to practice more and spend less on ammo doing it.

I got my elk with the .308 this year and it did a fantastic job. 120 paces. Prone on my backpack just like you practice! One lung shot quartering and away. It went rite down. I waited patiently it stood up and started down hill so I hit it again in the shoulder. This was already going to be a big haul and I didn’t need another drainage to climb. The shoulder shot was dang near a pass through! It destroyed the left shoulder blade and through the opposite side rib cage and blasted the other shoulder! Stopped just shy of the hide.

When processing it the shock damage was immense. Way more than I had seen when I used the .300 win mag. I ground 20 pounds up my my dog.

In my .300 I always used core lokt 180gr . I was using federal fusion 180gr in the .308. Never have I shot one more than 325 yards.

I’m still learning about all the different types of ammo. And really hunting and processing.

For an elk do I want better penetration? Or a light bullet? Is the extra power of the magnum the difference? Or bullet type?

Second question, is blood trail. This was a snowy cold day. And for practice sake I wanted to find the impact site and “track” it even though it was 20’ away. There was