2025 Montana Elk Outfitters & Guides Recommendations

Looking to do a rifle general combo elk/deer hunt in 2025 in Montana. Has anyone ever hunted or have experience with Anchor Outfitters LLC (Not Anchor P Outfitters) and/or Hidden Valley Outfitters out of Wibaux? Both are listed on MOGA and seem to have good reviews. They seem pretty successful on their facebook pages. I've looked at about 30 different outfitters and I am open to other outfitter reccomendations.

t_carlson

WKR
Ok, I'll bite.

I have no personal knowledge of either operation, but as a Montanan, I'll say this:

Anchor Outfitters LLC's website says they hunt the Crazy Mountains, and in looking at the photos, probably on private land at least some of the time. Right now, the Crazies are one of the parts of the state that is over objective with elk numbers, and there are significant access issues for public land hunters. That is a very good thing, as many pieces of landlocked public are essentially private land for all intents and purposes.

IMO, one of the first steps in picking a good outfitter is picking a good hunt area. Contrast this with the hunts in places like the Bob Marshall Wilderness or the Absaroka-Beartooth Wilderness, where you are already behind the 8-ball when you start out, despite any skill of the outfitter, due to very low game numbers.

Hidden Valley Outfitters website just says they hunt the "Helena-Lewis & Clark National Forest Lands as well as some bordering private ranches." The mountain range is not mentioned.