2022 Illinois Public Land Buck

mylsuhat

Lil-Rokslider
My dad and I have been traveling up from Louisiana to Illinois for 8 years now, chasing Midwest whitetails during the rut. We have had some great success over the years and it's always an enjoyable trip. This year was no different.

We left Louisiana around midnight Saturday Nov. 5th for a XXish hour drive.

Once we got up there, bought our licenses and groceries, we headed out to scout around some places that we have had luck in the past. There is a ridgetop that narrows above a creek bluff that creates somewhat of a pinch point that I decided to sit the first afternoon. I told my dad that I wanted to get in the bottom adjacent to that ridge but the wind was wrong. I set up where I had a good shot of the whole ridge but I could also see across the creek, into the bottom. An hour before dark I hear something that makes me turn and look into the bottom and sure enough I see a hell of a buck down there, of course. I text my dad saying, "Saw a dandy in that bottom. He has a phenomenal right side but something was off with the other side. No doubt shooter."

All week the temps were higher than usual with winds out of the south except for Tuesday evening. That afternoon I snuck down there into the thickness, hung my saddle and hunted. First deer I saw was about 2 hours before dark. A doe worked her way through and a nice young 8pt was only a minute behind here, checking and freshening every scrape he passed. After sunset, I heard the undeniable sound of deer fighting (obvious it wasn't some fool rattling lol). I eventually see these two 1.5 y.o. bucks walking side by side and stopping to spar every 20 yards or so. Pretty cool to see.

I bounced around the next few days, hoping to run into one but I knew that Friday’s cold front was going to be my chance to get back down in the bottom. An all day sit was going to happen.

The front pushed through overnight on Friday. Temps dropped 40 degrees. Winds NW. Let’s Go!