WY Antelope For a Newbie?

Hey Guys,

To start things off I'm a complete newbie to western style hunting currently living in the Mid West who is looking at putting together a solo rifle public land antelope hunt in Wyoming this fall.

I have absolutely zero expectations here involving the critter, don't care if it's a doe or the most under-endowed buck in the state, just want to get out and experience a taster of this type of hunting.

I'm perfectly happy walking as far as necessary and camping out where needed so road+lodging accessibility isn't a big concern. I like to walk and would honestly prefer something other than truck hunting if possible.

I don't have any points for WY yet, so right now I'm just trying to work out which unit/area would offer at least a reasonable chance of success and enough public land to get me going while having decent enough draw odds (regular or special draw, buck, doe, either, whatever) that it would be worth applying.

I've been scouring OnX and GoHunt religiously for the past few days, but being a noob it's rather difficult to separate the crappy areas from the ones with real potential.

Any suggestions on where to look and how to do it, along with other potential factors I may not have considered yet?

Laramie

WKR
You have a decent chance of drawing doe tags in a decent area. You have very little chance of drawing a decent any antelope tag. Anything requiring 0 points is that way for a reason.

Your best bet is to select an area that requires 5+ points right now and apply for doe tags there If you draw, should be a fun hunt.

406life

Lil-Rokslider