Work On Your Own Bow

BoTheHunter

Lil-Rokslider
I’ve been bowhunting for about 5 years. I’ve recently found interest in being able to do everything to your compound on your own. I want to be able to fine tune, site in, fix simple things, etc. on my own with minimal budget tools. Any advice?

Rob5589

WKR
Press and draw board are two must haves. Bow vise is also used frequently. After that it is mostly common tools; hex head wrenches, torx wrenches, basic sockets and such.

OP
BoTheHunter

BoTheHunter

Lil-Rokslider
Press and draw board are two must haves. Bow vise is also used frequently. After that it is mostly common tools; hex head wrenches, torx wrenches, basic sockets and such.
I’m new to all of this, what does a press and draw board do?

Rob5589

WKR
A press is used to, press (compress) the bow, in order to relieve the load on the limbs. Use it for string swaps, peep installs, timing adjustments, etc. A draw board is a mechanical device used to draw the bow in order to check cam timing, draw length, etc.

OP
BoTheHunter

BoTheHunter

Lil-Rokslider
A press is used to, press (compress) the bow, in order to relieve the load on the limbs. Use it for string swaps, peep installs, timing adjustments, etc. A draw board is a mechanical device used to draw the bow in order to check cam timing, draw length, etc.
Oh ok thank you! Any budget recommendations?

PhotoHunter

Lil-Rokslider
Bow presses can be expensive. I've been using a portable bow press for many years and have installed peep sites, new strings and cables. For as much as I use it, it works for me. I have the bow master, but there are others. Make sure the one you get will work with your bow (split limbs...). I really believe you have to work on your own bow if you are serious about archery.

Rob5589

WKR