Why use an Arca-Swiss plate with an Arca-Swiss foot?

So I’m pretty new to the optic world, but something is kinda perplexing me.

I’ve seen more than a couple setups where people have their spotting scopes with AS compatible feet (Swaro or newer Vortex) that are bolted to an Arca-Swiss dovetail adapter plate.

So my question is… why? Why not just clamp onto the scope’s foot? Isn’t that the purpose of using an AS foot on these scopes?

I tell any customer I help out to put the plate in a safe spot and drop the optic right into the head if it has an arca mount

OP
Mumbly-Peg
I tell any customer I help out to put the plate in a safe spot and drop the optic right into the head if it has an arca mount

Okay, so I’m not crazy?

The only thing I can think is that people are trying to lengthen the foot for balancing concerns.

My guess would be that people are not aware that the optics foot is arca they just put the plate on because it came with the tripod and never looked into it more.

4th_point

WKR
The dovetail dimension and geometry can vary widely from different manufacturers for the plates and clamps.

RRS has a drawing online for reference but that doesn't mean that others are similar.

I have various plates and clamps (heads) and some aren't compatible without fiddling with the clamp adjustment. Others clamp but create poor contact.

For example, I have a VA-5 head that doesn't like plates that are similar to the RRS spec. But works with various other Chinese plates.

I could be completely wrong but it seems like there's the RRS spec and similar, and the overseas spec. Some actually look quite different if you put them side by side.

OP
Mumbly-Peg
The dovetail dimension and geometry can vary widely from different manufacturers for the plates and clamps.

RRS has a drawing online for reference but that doesn't mean that others are similar.