Understanding California Public Turkey Options

I am a travel nurse in California for just this turkey hunting season. I just want to legally get in the woods. I understand I need a license and game bird stamp. My question is how do I know what wildlife areas I can or cannot just hunt any day during the season? For example, when I go to the lake sonoma WA page it does not say there is a special application needed, on the "opening weekend" applications on the CA website, that WA is not one of the available quota hunts, but on the "balance of season" portion, lake sonoma is on there as 4/1-4/2. Does that mean those are the only two days able to hunt that WA at all? Or just for those two days you need a quota permit or what?

If a WA is not on either the "opening weekend" or "balance of season" quota app list, can you hunt it any day during season?
What about national forests? Is that a better option to not have any confusion?

Thanks for any help, I am really not looking for SPOTS, just understanding where I am legally allowed to hunt so I can make a better plan.

Muleyczy

Lil-Rokslider
take a look at California DFW webite. Looks like you’ll need to apply, however I believe that’s to hunt the opener. It’s been a minute since I’ve hunted WA in California but I recall something like that. Below is an portion of what I read.

Type C: Lake Sonoma Wildlife Area does not require the purchase of a hunting pass for entry. Entry permits and/or passes or special drawing may be required for hunting on some Type C wildlife areas. Authorized species:

• Deer: Deer hunts are applied for through the License and Revenue Branch. A premium deer tag is required for the Archery A25 Hunt and Junior J1 Hunt.
  • Pig: Pig hunts are now offered by the Corps of Engineers for archery and crossbow hunts.
  • Turkey: Spring and fall wild turkey hunts for adults and juniors are applied for through the CDFW Special Hunts Online Registration System.

OP
T