Tips on researching fall black bear hunting from a newbie.

workethic

FNG
My inspiration for writing this is the lack of information out there regarding fall black bear. I suspect its because it is in the great shadow of hunting ungulates! For some reason I love black bear hunting and I love black bears, dont know why and dont know where it started, I just do. I am a midwestern hunter that has done a few western trips. I exclusively hunt public land out west and aside from 40 acres of ag field here in MN I hunt public lands. I am very familiar with countering human pressure and using to my benefit. Ill tell you this, my hunting prep is better than my actual skill at hunting :p. Keep in mind I AM A COMPLETE NEWBIE WHEN IT COMES TO WESTERN BLACK BEAR HUNTING!!! I don't know what I am doing for the most part and have relied on what information and people are out there to guide me. This is just regurgitated information and none of it is my own experience, I just love researching hunts and looking over maps and imagining myself sitting on that way point of a glassing area.
So, here we go:

I will not go into what unit or state to hunt, there is so much information out there on public land percentages, draw odds, harvest reports that you can figure that out for yourself.
Bears in the fall will be prepping to go into hibernation, so they will be eating a ton of food that is higher in carbs aka Hyperphagia. Things like berries, nuts and bugs. People say they can feed up to 20 hours a day. Just remember that says "up to." If the food is plentiful and requires little expense of energy to get, expect it to be less than 20 hours, but they will still be much more active.