Tips and pointers for an Oregon spring bear newbie!

NJ2OR

FNG
Hello all!

First, if I am barking up the wrong tree with this post kindly point me in the right direction! I am new to Rokslide and this is my first post.

I am new to the west coast and this upcoming Oregon spring bear season will be my first big game hunting other than the east coast. I drew a tag for the SW portion of OR. While I am an OR resident, I am working in CA for the next few months so I would like to stick to the southern half of the SW unit to save a little drive time. This season will surely be a huge learning experience, but I was hoping some people may be willing to share some tips, perhaps a list of top things they wish they knew when they started bear hunting, and most of all, general locations to start exploring (without giving away any specific spots of course!).

What I know (not much):

Focus on clear cuts, meadows (suggestions for access to timber land, etc. (w/out a permit) or public that isn't quite all a thick jungle?).
Focus mornings and evenings
Focus on food, spring green up
Get behind gated roads (Suggested gated areas?? I simply haven't spent enough time in the woods to have a list of gates/areas i'd like to explore)

I understand I will learn the answers to most all of these questions simply by spending time in the field, but I am trying to give myself the most information I can before setting foot out there. As much as i'd like to walk around the woods scouting everyday, working ~7 hours away has made that difficult.

Right now my plan is to essentially pick a spot (almost randomly) and go.

Thank you in advance for any info, and best of luck to anyone hunting this spring!

Rogue Bay

WKR
Hi and welcome to Rokslide!