Skyscraper 2 vs cimmaron

As a tent to use in 4 seasons, which one are you picking? Currently have a cimm that I had some condensation issues with and considering going to sg. Want the most durable tent since I’m in all 4 seasons. What do you guys think?

I havent had my SkyScraper 2 in any snow yet but I've been using it since 2020 and I love it. INterested to see the other feedback - I chose the SG over the Cimmaron and the Hilliberg back in 2020.

Good luck!

Fish_monger

Lil-Rokslider
I just sold my Cimarron and ordered a SkyScraper 2p last week.

I spent 7 days in the Cimarron last month. The first 3 days were unseasonably warm so the bugs were out of control. the next 3 days were wind and rain. Condensation was awful, and when the rip stop gets wet it sags, so I was constantly adjusting stakes between rain to keep the flapping to a minimum. Meanwhile, my buddy was snug as a bug in a rug next to me in his BA copper spur.

In addition, I don’t find there is nearly as much space in the Cimarron as the forum members tout. 2 with gear is nearly as cramped as a conventional 2-3p tent, and I still can’t stand up straight. I also don’t use the stove feature of the floorless shelter which really defeats the purpose. After adding the weight of a nest, I was over the 5lb mark anyways so I decided to switch.

I haven’t had an opportunity to use the SkyScraper yet, but the ole’ living room test has me feeling like I made the right choice.

MT_Wyatt

WKR
Skyscraper is a solid tent, nice and vertical sides on the inner tent. The solid body is nice, and it has good ventilation as well as condensation protection. It’s broad across the top, and can collect snow there, but it’s damn strong.

It’s a Slingfin design - I’d spend some time on their site to see how they do things, their blog is quite informative…..it’s different, in a good way. Very flexible design you can make work all seasons.