relocating AK --> CO

spdcrazy

Lil-Rokslider
looks like things are going to change for me. Time to try Colorado on for size so here is my situation and desires. help guide me into a place that might fit me best. give me thoughts on things maybe i haven't thought of. or tell me i'm crazy. i'll take all the advise and wisdom you fellows have.

i'm a 26yr old newly single guy. just recently got into the hiking and backpacking style of outdoors. I like fast cars and 4x4's. I am a trained Firefighter and soon EMT. I currently work as a Police/Fire/EMS 911 dispatcher tho desire a career firefighter position. I moved to a very rural (5k population) city in Alaska to gain experience as a volunteer. and i've just about out grown the city, my volunteer status, and there isn't room to grow in my police dispatcher job.

so... Colorado might be the answer. Bigger cities, more paid firefighter positions, still outdoors stuff and hunting/fishing to be had. I'm thinking Colorado Springs might be a good place. about 18% cheaper than Anchorage for cost of living. (figure is prob dulled down due to homer being more expensive than ANC.

Ideally I want to buy a piece of land with a smallish house 1000sq or so. cabin of sorts. I don't want neighbors to complain about my noise when i play movies loud or work on my vehicles at night. and of course I want to be stones throw from town and the vast wilderness. Long shot I know, but thats the dream..

Would Colorado Springs set me up fairly well or should i be looking somewhere else, and why?