Newbie here looking for insight next year.

bduke7645

FNG
Looking for some insight on a newbie getting into "big game hunting" never been out west to hunt anything other than upland birds. I was on a recent trip to Arizona with my father quail hunting (were bird dog people) as we crest over a small drainage and found a small pocket with a group of antelope in it, as we watched them for a good amount of time my father turned to me a said I think I would like to hunt them one day. I am now on the hunt to learn how the drawing system work preferably for the state of Wyoming this will be a DIY hunt.

So, are there other states better then Wyoming? I have read that the eastside of the state of Wyoming seems easier to be drawn but there is a lot less public ground. How many years does it take to be drawn or can you get a landowner tag (if that is a thing) We are defiantly not looking to set the world on fire or kill some kind of record goat more about the experience and memory if we get lucky that would be nice lol.

Any input would be nice and even some suggestions on where some nice Inns are or Airbnb and a good steak house.

Thanks!!

OP
B

bduke7645

FNG
Sweet! so after looking at that there are defiantly some units where you can be drawn with 0 preference points and seem to have a decent chance at seem some action.

Thanks!

npm352

WKR
Looking for some insight on a newbie getting into "big game hunting" never been out west to hunt anything other than upland birds. I was on a recent trip to Arizona with my father quail hunting (were bird dog people) as we crest over a small drainage and found a small pocket with a group of antelope in it, as we watched them for a good amount of time my father turned to me a said I think I would like to hunt them one day. I am now on the hunt to learn how the drawing system work preferably for the state of Wyoming this will be a DIY hunt.