New Rifle or Customize Current Howa 1500?

Rodéo

WKR
I have a Howa 1500 in .308, 20 inch barrel, all cerakoted (it's the kuiu edition if that matters).

I'm torn between buying a new rifle or customizing my current setup. I use this rifle for all big game currently but want something with a little less kick for shooting at the range and the generally small blacktail/muley hybrids I hunt in CA. If I go with a new rifle, I think 6.5 creedmoor is at the top of my list in terms of caliber. I don't reload if you're wondering.

If I upgrade the Howa, I have some questions since I'm totally new to this. The gripes I have with the Howa now are that it's a little heavy for the backcountry (8.6 lbs. scoped and loaded) and the recoil gets annoying after 50 or so rounds at the range. If I customize, I'm thinking fluted barrel and bolt to shave a few ounces + getting the barrel threaded for a muzzle break. How much would this reasonably cost?

Budget for new rifle w/ scope: Around $1250. Glass would likely be something in the vortex razor lh line (the old models) or another lightweight mid to high-level option.

Budget for customizing current setup:Around $400-500. Would like to keep it at less than half the cost of a new rifle that weighs around 7lbs. scoped.

If I'm being totally unrealistic on my budget please let me know since I'm new to this. Just trying to see what would be more cost effective. Keep in mind, the howa is my first centerfire rifle, I don't plan on having it be my last.

Thanks!

Last edited:

tdhanses

WKR
Get a carbon six prefit, my howa has one and a McMillan stock, shoots great. I also have a Timney trigger, but to do this at minimum you’ll need the $1250 to put into it. If your only going to put $400-$500 into the howa don’t spend the money.