Need Advice on Crossbow

EdP

WKR
I'm a longtime rifle and muzzleloader (flintlock) hunter considering a crossbow, but I have no experience with them. Eastern whitetails is what I would be using it for mostly but might consider other game in the future. I don't want something that I have to take to someone else to get tuned or something that is fickle and easily put out of good working order. Something that is pretty quiet at the shot is important too, and I'd like to have an effective range out to 50 or 60 yds. The Excalibur Assassin 400 TD is looking good to me right now but I sure could use some input from experienced hands. Is my wish list reasonable? Would you recommend the Excalibur or something else?

Thanks for your input.

Tod osier

WKR
Not many out in the open crossbow hunters here. The Excalibur will do most of what you ask. They will have all the accuracy you need at 60 (mine has group sizes sub 2" at 60 for as many shots as you like), you have to decide what travel time from release to impact is acceptable to you more so than accuracy. No tuning to be done. Warranty is good.

They are loud, a heavier string and arrow and cat whiskers make a difference, but they are louder than a compound.

Augie

Lil-Rokslider
What's the purpose of buying a crossbow instead of a compound, recurve, or longbow?

I've got some family members that are exclusively crossbow hunters, and use exclusively the cheapest bows/bolts they can find. The stacks of deer they have killed with them have me convinced that there is no need to spend big on a crossbow, but you do need a really sharp broadhead and good shot placement to avoid a rodeo (just like any other bow variant).

That being said, I'll be using my compound bow barring an injury.

What's the purpose of buying a crossbow instead of a compound, recurve, or longbow?