N00Bs rules for learning to bow hunt

wildernessmaster

Lil-Rokslider
Staring at my bin of unused broadheads today (for sale if anyone wants them), I was inspired to write this. I am a newbie bow hunter (still feel that way). My bow hunting journey did not come with a lot of mentoring or true wise-ole-hunter guidance. It was pretty much a self taught, rugged ass road.

I hope this helps others...

I started my bow hunting journey in earnest about 4 years ago. As an engineer by training and profession, I always approach new things with a lot of initial research. My first year "bow hunting" was nothing to do with hunting - it was learning, educating myself, and not one iota of any hunting - or even bow shooting for that matter. That is important to note in both good and bad ways, which we will get to shortly.

Years 2-4 have actually involved a bow in my hand, albeit year 2 was pretty sparse on both. Year 3 and 4 have been decent archery and bow hunting years.

I give you that as background to say this... You don't have to take that long. If you read what I am going to share your path to bow hunting will be much quicker and efficient.

Rule 1 - K.I.S.S. - Keep It Simple Stupid
...at every point in your journey. If it starts feeling like it isn't simple, step back and find a simple path. Archery is full of terminology and new concepts. Bow hunting adds significantly to that. If you are like me completely new to the "world" (of bows, archery and bow hunting) and lack a mentor or guide - you can become overwhelmed quickly. More so you can start obsession about theological things that keep you from moving forward in your skills. If it starts feeling like it isn't simple, nock and arrow and follow rule 2 - shoot your damn bow, then find the simple path.

Rule 2 - F.A.D.0. - Fling Arrows Day 0