Mystery ranch, which pack?

Mbagwell

FNG
I’m new to backpack hunting. I am going to be doing a 9 day whitetail hunt in Michigan next year and then planning some western hunts. I was looking at the metcalf or the Marshall. I want to be able to haul meat out comfortably and carry all my gear. I was wondering which one and why? First hand accounts please? Thank you in advance.

Brett8133

Lil-Rokslider
I have a metcalf I will sell you it’s been used a total of about 3 weeks no blood stains in excellent shape . Great pack it just doesn’t quit fit me the way I would like .

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I have a MR pack fetish of sorts. Among others, I owned a .mil version of the marshal, a Metcalf and now a beartooth.

The Marshall is a huge pack. I think it is more bag than most need for less than 4-5 days. The Metcalf is great. At 70 liters it does fine as a day pack when empty but packs 3-5 days of gear easily and can do more with the right loading. Beartooth is roughly the same size but you give up the snow collar as a loading option.

Unless I was going to make a habit of 5-7+ Day trips, I would think the Marshall is a little too much volume. The difference between 3 days and 5 or more days is mostly food and consumables so I tend to pack those on the meat shelf or strapped to the outside of the pack as needed for longer trips.

OP
M

Mbagwell

FNG
I have a MR pack fetish of sorts. Among others, I owned a .mil version of the marshal, a Metcalf and now a beartooth.

The Marshall is a huge pack. I think it is more bag than most need for less than 4-5 days. The Metcalf is great. At 70 liters it does fine as a day pack when empty but packs 3-5 days of gear easily and can do more with the right loading. Beartooth is roughly the same size but you give up the snow collar as a loading option.