Mystery Ranch Terraframe 50 - Fitting issues

Movadius

Lil-Rokslider
I seem to be having a hard time getting my new pack dialed in. I'm having the same issue with this pack that I've had with every single pack I've tried in the past. I'm not an expert on pack fitting but I have suspicions that problem is related to my body proportions.

I'm 5'9" with a 19-20" Torso length, and wear around a 35 in pant size (38" waist according to Mystery Ranch measurement method). According to the Mystery Ranch site, that put me firmly in the middle of the scale for the size L of their pack. The pack comes with a L/XL yoke, and a size L frame/hip belt.

The reason I suspect my body proportions are causing my fit issue is that despite being modest height and normal torso length, I have a barrel chest and back, wide shoulders large traps. On top of that I also have a bit of extra fat. I've lost 30lbs this year and plan to lose another 15-20, but I do a lot of martial arts and heavy bag work so I have muscle on the upper torso that will likely not be going anywhere any time soon. When I measure my torso circumference at around the nipples, it's around 45" which I suspect is disproportionately large compared to my height and even my torso length.

How does this play into my pack fit issue? Well whenever I try on a pack in size "Small" or "Medium", The torso length might fit but the shoulder straps are always too short to comfortably span my traps/shoulders/chest and the neck area seems to always be too small/tight as well. So I go with Large or L/XL and then I run into a different issue. I always load the pack up with about 30lbs of gear and then put the hip belt where it's supposed to be. The problem then becomes a cycle of: