My Hunt is Over! Blisters NO MORE (Part 2 Treatment)... by Luke Stephens

wildernessmaster

Lil-Rokslider
In Part 1 I discussed prevention, now we move on to treatment.

Treatment
------------
I know, I know this is what you really hard core Moes (who say "screw prevention") want to know. So here we go.

Consult your physician. I am not a doctor, just stayed at a holiday inn last night. All lawsuits should be filed in my home state of UChoseToDoItIdiot :)

Seriously do not treat this as medical advice and don't hassle me later about what I am going to share. It works and it has saved a bunch of guys.

Treatment Rule 1 - Don't pop the blisters, unless...

Generally speaking I would opt to not pop the blister, unless the blister was producing secondary problems (so big it was causing other blisters to form due to malformation of my foot in my boot). Remember a blister is actually an appropriate preventive defense the body utilizes - ITS FREAKING PROTECTING ITSELF from more harm.

I have operated for long periods of time with a blister intact and doing its proper job. In fact it was so intact that a secondary blister formed over the primary blister due to the body thinking it was "normal part" of my foot.

If you pop blisters (before you need or have to):
1. You open a wound. Before its popped its a closed wound that is "clean".
2. You expose flesh not ready to be exposed or to take friction. This is a biggie. I have literally seen the "friction wound" result in deeper and deeper tissue damage - to the point of reaching tendons, nerves, etc.
3. You take away the cushion the body is giving you.

Treatment Rule 2 - If it pops itself, or you have to pop it, drain it and remove the outer blister skin.