My First Compound (in quite a few years)

applepie_eli

Lil-Rokslider
I'm wanting to buy a new compound bow for next fall. Would like to get it as soon as I have money for it which should be early summer at the latest. I've been shooting recurve for a few years now but I would like to go back to compound for multiple reasons.

I've never had a good compound, the one I had in high school was an OLD Hoyt I believe. I sold it in college to pay for a tank of gas and Burger King.

Long story short my local shop has this Bear Alaskan package in stock and I'll be looking at it tomorrow. I'm not sold on any brand or anything. Just want something made in USA, durable, and affordable. There's good reviews on new Bear compounds but I have no idea really. Another option I thought of was a Prime Logic Ct3 I found on Mountain Archery for a little over $500 for the bare bow. Advice or opinions on what to get?

Attachments

• Screenshot_20220504-182638.png
    Screenshot_20220504-182638.png
    1.1 MB · Views: 24
  • Screenshot_20220504-182632.png
    Screenshot_20220504-182632.png
    167.8 KB · Views: 24

bsnedeker

WKR
My advice would be go to the shop and shoot a many bows as you can so you can determine which you like best. Compound bow fit is a very personal thing.

Sent from my SM-G998U1 using Tapatalk

I've shot compound for a few years now and finally go my first good bow (Bowtech SR350). The reason I went with this is because it felt really good in my hand and is easy to change things like draw weight, draw length, and cam alignment. For someone new like me who didn't even know 100% what draw length I am comfortable with, having these easy to adjust at home without a press was a big plus.