Moose hunting 101

MitchId

FNG
Hey everyone, I'm reaching out to the hunting community, as I have just drawn a Moose tag in Idaho. I am hoping to get as much coaching as I can on this to make the most of a once in lifetime tag. Wanting to know the typical range for a shot? Should I do bow or rifle? When is the rut? I have hunted a lot of other critters just never Moose. Would love any info and feedback you all have. Any help is appreciated.

WMR

FNG
Sorry for the typo above. If I were a newbie with a once in a lifetime tag, I’d go with a knowledgeable friend or hire a guide. Best of luck.

OP
M

MitchId

FNG
Thank you! I totally agree. Thought I'd reach out to the community here and see if I could make a new friend!

Loo.wii

WKR
I saw plenty of moose sign and even found a fresh shed in northern idaho.......

jewbacca

FNG
Which unit and dates? I'm a moose noob as well but happy to share a bit about my approach.

There's quite a bit of info in old threads here and on other forums. Seems to be more focus on AK moose than lower-48, but I found this thread to be particularly helpful:

I picked up a copy of his recommended book:

Last edited:
OP
M

MitchId

FNG
Which unit and dates? I drew Unit 3 for Nov 1-14. I'm a moose noob as well but happy to share a bit about my approach.

There's quite a bit of info in old threads here and on other forums. Seems to be more focus on AK moose than lower-48, but I found this thread to be particularly helpful:

I picked up a copy of his recommended book:

I want to learn all I can about moose behavior and habitat.