Lowa tibet gtx waterproof issues?

Elite

WKR
So I have been running the Tibet gtx for a few years now and it seems like every pair I have owned seems to start leaking and soaking my feet after the 2nd season. I have tried every waterproofing cream/wax I could find and they helped but they still leak.

Wondering if anyone else has found this to be the case? If so I might be switching brands.

I like how stiff the Tibets are for sheep hunting but also enjoy them for hiking in tree blow down areas for elk hunting. Anyone have suggestions on a different boot to try or how to correct this issue

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Some guys seem to have better luck than me, but I usually only get a few seasons out of GoreTex before it leaks. I don't think this is unique to Lowas.

The creams and sprays are good for keeping the leather from being saturated, but if the structural integrity of the GoreTex liner is compromised, no amount of DWR treatment will make them waterproof.

CodyB

Lil-Rokslider
Yep I’ve gave up on Lowa Tibets. Three pairs over about five years and they all leaked within a few months. Using this last pair I drier country until they til completely wear out.

Hondo0925

Lil-Rokslider
Same here, mine leaked the second season. Still one of my favorite boots though. I switched to Zambarlans last year and they seem to hold out the water better. But they aren’t as comfortable for me. So I’m thinking of switching back. Needless to say I have not found the perfect boot for me.

logan123

Lil-Rokslider
As mentioned, it isn’t a Lowa material failure. Gore manufactures the PTFE membrane and liner. I had some Tibets leak around the ball of my foot, and I’ve had other brands leak, too. Goretex isn’t perfect.

If you have your receipt, Gore will actually refund you for the cost of the boots.

dtrkyman

WKR