Looking at a Mathews V3 - 27" vs 31"

Who has one and what are your thoughts? Shot one today and liked it, but I haven't shot a new bow in a long time so don't have a great frame of reference.

I've been shooting a Mathews DXT for close to 15 years now, it has served me well, but I'm getting the itch for an upgrade.

I believe the DXT is in-between the 27 and 31 size wise... I never struggled to shoot the DXT and have been pretty accurate with it - are people happy with the 27, do people prefer the 31?

Game will be elk, whitetail/mule deer, and maybe the occasional antelope.

Thanks!

Sent from my SM-G991U using Tapatalk

Zac

WKR
Unless you are hunting mostly out of tree stands and ground blinds you would be better off with the 31. Chris Bee shoots the 27 incredibly well, however he is probably the exception. I suppose it would work for you if you have a 27 inch or less draw length. Either way it would be a great upgrade though.

OP
rileybassman
Unless you are hunting mostly out of tree stands and ground blinds you would be better off with the 31. Chris Bee shoots the 27 incredibly well, however he is probably the exception. I suppose it would work for you if you have a 27 inch or less draw length. Either way it would be a great upgrade though.
Ok cool... I'm 5'7" and shoot a 28" draw if that helps.

It's what you are accustomed to. I like longer bows, but I know some bigger guys that can shoot the 27.5 or 28 really well. They shoot taller bows a little better, but it's surprising how well they can shoot what seems like a slingshot.

GatorGar247

Lil-Rokslider
I have the vxr 28 and I'm looking to buy a longer ata bow.. out to 40 I shoot it fine. But l like to shoot out to 100 for fun . I shoot 29 inch draw but I prefer 32 to 34 ata.. The shorter bow just isn't as easy to shoot for me at longer ranges

OP
rileybassman