Long draw hunter looking at upgrading bows

831hunter

FNG
Hey fellas.

I have been bow hunting for 15 years but took a decent hiatus due to back injuries. I have a 33” draw length and currently shoot a 13 year old pse vendetta xl and am thinking of switching it up. Looking at the Mathew’s atlas but curious what improvements in technology and function I should expect over my vendetta. I just restrung the vendetta as well. Thanks for any input

5MilesBack

"DADDY"
I've been shooting my Freak SP for the last 8 years at just under 33" draw (like 32 7/8"). I picked up a Mathews Traverse in Dec with the 32.5" 75% let-off mods. I haven't shot it much yet, but it is smooth and quiet. And it feels pretty close on draw length to what I'm used to shooting. I'm sure the Atlas would be a good shooter as well. I know a guy that's 6'10" and he loves his Traverse. That's one reason why I tried it.

RC_

FNG
Hoyt Highline is another option that would fit you. No personal experience, but have run into a guy at the range a couple times that seems to really like his.

Hoyt Highline is another option that would fit you. No personal experience, but have run into a guy at the range a couple times that seems to really like his.

I hear good things about the highline. I was talking with a guy who's draw is 32" and he likes it

I don't have experience in comparison with a 13 year old bow, but I love my PSE Levitate been shooting for over a year now. They make a Mach 34 that has a 33" draw which would be worth testing if you're hunting for a new bow.

If at all possible, it's totally worth making time to test shoot various bows!

Looking at specs and reviews along, I was dead set on one or two other bows, but the PSE just felt the best to me personally when shooting them all side by side. For other shooters, the Hoyt or Matthews felt best. Find somewhere you can shoot a few of them and I'll bet one just feels the best for you.

realunlucky

Super Moderator
Staff member