Leupold CDS info

Newbie here, just got a Leupold VX5 with the CDS dial and I'm wondering how accurate the altitude part needs to be when I send it in? I'm in WI at 1200 ft and hunt eastern Montana and Wyoming where the altitude is 4500-4700. I've heard there's a 1500ish ft sweet spot where you can be 1500 ft above or below? So I'm asking if anyone knows about that? or where should I list my altitude? 3000 ft?? Or ??? Thanks for any help you can provide.

Smokeslider

Lil-Rokslider
So using my shooter app, and a 300WM, 200gr ELD.

Difference in drop at your elevation at 500 yards is 1.4 inches
300 yards is a difference of drop 0.2 inches.

I'll let you decide if that difference matters to you

gr8fuldoug

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor
I sent your question to our tech rep at Leupold and he replied "I always suggest to get as close to the elevation you will be shooting the most at. They will more than likely be shooting at that location as well for a zero-in there. When putting in your elevation for cds dial use the average elevation (dial is accurate +/- 2000ft)."

OP
Trapper330
I sent your question to our tech rep at Leupold and he replied "I always suggest to get as close to the elevation you will be shooting the most at. They will more than likely be shooting at that location as well for a zero-in there. When putting in your elevation for cds dial use the average elevation (dial is accurate +/- 2000ft)."
In my situation would you go with 2000-2500 ft and figure its good for both? Do you think 3000 would be too much? am I splitting hairs!?

Gingerman

Lil-Rokslider