Insanity CPX rest and arrow options

rhendrix

WKR
Picked up an insanity cpx from J-Daddy (sweet deal by the way), it's a 60-70# set up. Will the cheap trophy taker revolution rest work on these without fletching contact? Also, looking at getting some DCA arrows, at a .300 spine and 8.7 hip they look like a killer deal. Who hunted with them this year and how did they hold up?

Last edited:

ChanceH

FNG
I also have an Insanity CPX. Super bow. You will love it! What is your Draw Length? .300 may be a little heavy spined, but I have zero experience with the DCA arrows and Spine charts.

OP
R

rhendrix

WKR
Chance, I'm a 28 or 28.5 DL. I read several guys that were shooting .300 spines arrows due to the cam and tuning issues. If I could use my Axis nano's that'd be great.

OR Archer

WKR
You don't need a 300 spine for your draw length and weight. A 340 would be ideal but you could easily use a 400 too. Im a big fan of Trophy Taker rests. Smackdown Pro is my favorite or the Xtreme FC. Both are simple and easy to set up.

You don't need a 300 spine for your draw length and weight. A 340 would be ideal but you could easily use a 400 too. Im a big fan of Trophy Taker rests. Smackdown Pro is my favorite or the Xtreme FC. Both are simple and easy to set up.

How can you determine what a good spine for him is without knowing his poundage and tip weights?

On the assumption your shooing 70# you could add 50-75 grains to the insert, a 125 grain head, and easily shoot the .300 spine. Your FOC would be through the roof, your setup will be forgiving as hell, and your momentum will carry you through most anything.

OP
R

rhendrix

WKR
I was planning on paper tuning the axis nano's I have and going from there. Read several guys that are shooting a 300 spine though with the insanity with good results, I can only imagine OR has this same experience.

ChanceH

FNG