I'm New to GAIA, Need Help w/Map Downloads

Crusader

WKR
Hi guys. I live in MO and was lucky to draw a tag for the bear hunt here this October. Will be hunting in National Forest and want to have a mapping app to utilize. A few years back I used Onx for an antelope hunt in WY, mainly to know private prop boundaries. But I'm not very savvy with tech.

Anyway, decided to use GAIA based on a lot of good reviews here on RS so I purchased their premium package. Last night I attempted to download a map as I don't expect to have cell service in our hunt area. I chose several map sources, outlined the area I wanted, and started the download. It stalled while downloading the last source and stayed that way for a couple of hours until I stopped the download.

I have an iPhone 11 with 64 MB of memory; I was attempting to download a map that was roughly 1/4 of a USGS topo quadrangle in area. If I was near maxing out of memory, would it not tell me so?

Related to memory, I assume there's no value in me purchasing Cloud memory since it would not be accessible if I don't have cell service, correct? Assuming so, do I have any other way to get more memory other than getting a new phone?

Are there any tips/suggestions you guys have that might enable to do download what I need? Sorry for all the questions but I'm not sure what to do at this point.

Thanks in advance for the help.

eddielasvegas

WKR & Chairman of the Rokslide Welcoming Committee
Not sure about GAIA, but I know for On X, they have excellent customer support so you should try the vendor's support as they're going to know the product (and related technologies) better than anyone on a forum.

Good luck,

Eddie

I really love how customizable Gaia is, but it does come with some quirks. The download issue you mentioned isn’t uncommon, though I usually have good luck with stopping and resuming the download.

You can check your phones storage in the settings section to make sure your not out of space.

OP
Crusader