How to get an accurate G1 BC number? Is it even possible?

alexnelon

FNG
So I'm pretty new to long range shooting in general and naturally am now knee deep in ballistic solvers trying to figure out how to put good data in so I can get good data out. I'm going to shoot NRL Hunter in West Texas at the end of May, so trying to get my head on straight before then.

The issue I'm struggling with now is; what the heck is the ACTUAL BC of the bullets I'm shooting?

For reference, I'm shooting a Howa 1500 in 30-06 with factory Federal Fusion 180s. Getting basically box velocity (2702fps avg)

Federal lists the G1 for this load at .498, pretty good for a soft point right? Here's where they make my brain mush though.

Federal offers this same bullet as a component as well as 4 different cartridges. All with different BC numbers...

.503 - .308 @ 2600fps
.498 - 30-06 @ 2700fps
.484 - .300 WSM @ 2950fps
.485 - .300 WM @ 2960fps
.483 - Component

I know different velocities generate different BC, but my cursory knowledge of physics tells me this is trending the wrong way.

With the numbers already probably fudged to look good, are the smart shooters just completely ignoring these and going straight to truing at range?

How close can I expect to get to the actual BC after truing? How close is "close enough"?

BBob

WKR
Overthinking it. That range of BC numbers won’t make a drastic change. Plug in the average, go shoot. Tweak the velocity and final trim with BC and you’ll be fine.

There’s plenty of sources to help with how to true. Here’s one:

180ls1

WKR
The best that you could probably do without actually validating it yourself is to switch to Hornady Match ammo and use 4dof.

Applied ballistics has a 180 federal fusion listed as 0.380 G1. Not sure if there has been different versions of that bullet but that's a far cry from the numbers in the OP and that's what I'd start with unless I knew better.

hereinaz

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor