how do you load pack for training purposes?

mattfish

FNG
I just got my DT3 and was wondering how to load it for training purposes. I tried a sleeping bag and a 25 pound weight but the weight fell to the bottom and sort of just rolled around. I am brand new to back country hunting and my first hunt will take place next year. I have some gear to gather yet but really want to start training with pack now. just not sure how to load it. I saw Aarons video on how to load a pack but not sure what everyone uses to fill the pack for training.

ssliger

WKR
I use the big bags of rice found at grocery stores. Do you have dogs? You can use 30-40lb bags of fog food.

MattB

WKR
I copied an idea I found here, using 4" PVC to make an "8" shaped frame which is filled with sand. It has structure, so it won't sink. I suppose you could fill it with something heavier than sand (lead shot) to get the weight up.

Ozz08

WKR
In the past I have used a 50lb bag of rice I got from Costco for 20 bucks or so. The bag of rice still left plenty of room in my timberline pack to add items for more weight so it worked well for me.

kuhn4

Lil-Rokslider
I put a blanket in the bottom of my T1 with the built-in divider above it. In the main pack body I put a contractor garbage bag with 2 bags of charcoal. When I want more weight I will squeeze steel weights between the charcoal bags. By using the compression straps the weight(s) won't shift down or move around.

Ray

WKR
I used 550 cord to hang the weight plates from the top of the pack. Tying them off will depend on your pack design. They are held in place by a couple of sleeping bags.

If you are going to be doing lots of down hills you may want to look into a water system and empty it before heading downhill. That's what a lot of us old guys do.