Goat down: KPen, AK

I'm an AK resident and had a bunch of goat experience on Kodiak with mixed success, so thought that the Kenai Peninsula would not be that different.

Well...it's different...

Flew out of Lake Hood, which is an experience - I knew it existed but I have never seen so many planes on floats in my life.

I went guided for the first time in my life (since I don't really know much about the area and the Kenai is a long ways from where I live) and we had a couple of nice days at the beginning of the hunt where we climbed the basin around camp. I must say that this area east of Seward is much more steep than most all the goat hunts on Kodiak I've been on, and there was multiple places I thought I was gonna fall off the mountain....pucker factor was high.
20220926_152705.jpg
Did not see much up high at the time and weather was starting to come in, so we headed down so we did not get stranded up top. This turned out to be a great decision, as it rained roughly 5 inches over the next 3 or 3.5 days.

So hunting the beach it is! The beaches in this area are very rocky with huge boulders, and some with orange or green algae on them. Over the course of the week, we came up with a *new* definition for turtling, where you fall off a rock onto your back with your pack acting as the "shell." Many miles were spent climbing over rocks as the tides allowed, scanning the rocky cliffs for goats.

Did I mention it was wet? Really, really wet...and this is coming from someone who grew up in one of the rainiest areas of the Pacific NW. Eventually we started seeing animals, including a TON of bears...so put one of them down as I had a tag for it. There were so many damn black bears in this area.