Generator shed/ cooler ?

akcabin

Lil-Rokslider
I've had thought that I could use the 8x12 generator shed for a walk in cooler since I built it. The walls are 2x6 and r-19 insulation with 6 mil visqueen. I got a small sized window air conditioner out there and was going to mount it on the outside of the shed and blow cold air in. Put a couple small exhaust vent in to let moisture n heat out. Probably put a small fan in it. Solar would be nice.
I freighted a small freezer that is half refrigerator out and a new 2500w duel fuel generator. I'll change camp batteries n such also.
My question is will I work as a walk in cooler like I think it will ? Maybe some butchers around or others that built a cooler.F8FA0016-032C-4534-8181-34CDB98E6034.jpeg

GotDraw?

WKR
There are plenty of companies that make walk in cooler kits. Check what they're using for refrigeration vs cubic feet of space you plan for your walk-in. Also, what their wall/ceiling/floor R-values are.

I could be wrong, but something tells me that your generator might be a little too small.

Legend

WKR
I've had thought that I could use the 8x12 generator shed for a walk in cooler since I built it. The walls are 2x6 and r-19 insulation with 6 mil visqueen. I got a small sized window air conditioner out there and was going to mount it on the outside of the shed and blow cold air in. Put a couple small exhaust vent in to let moisture n heat out. Probably put a small fan in it. Solar would be nice.
I freighted a small freezer that is half refrigerator out and a new 2500w duel fuel generator. I'll change camp batteries n such also.
My question is will I work as a walk in cooler like I think it will ? Maybe some butchers around or others that built a cooler.View attachment 541011
You will need to buy a "Coolbot" to trick your ac unit. Works great.

hunterjmj

WKR