First time Mule Deer Hunter - Colorado

I’m hopefully going to be hunting a very steep mule deer unit the first week of archery season in colorado.

I’m very very new to this western stuff, so I’m just looking for tips on what I should be looking for while e scouting. I’m hopefully going to have a weekend scouting trip This summer, but e scouting mostly.

Any other tips would be appreciated!

The terrain tends to be much more steep and rugged than it seems on maps or Google Earth.

Last edited:
What kind of buck are you looking for? Areas that offer potentially better success probably won't have monsters showing up very often, but going after young bucks won't teach you anything about old buck behavior. Gotta pick your poison.

OP
J
What kind of buck are you looking for? Areas that offer potentially better success probably won't have monsters showing up very often, but going after young bucks won't teach you anything about old buck behavior. Gotta pick your poison.
I’m looking for any legal buck this year. Baby steps!

nobody

WKR
I’m looking for any legal buck this year. Baby steps!
If all you’re looking for is a legal buck, there’s probably no need to go super steep and deep. You can kill a two point by driving roads in any deer unit with decent deer numbers. That’s a ton of work for a yearling!

That said, if you want to just see decent deer (3 years old +), I can see going steep and deep. If you’re going to go through the work, set your sights a little higher to start, you might be surprised!

This was the first really good e-scouting video I’ve ever seen, and it’s broke down in a really easy way to follow. Some of it is specific to goHUNT maps, but lots of the principles holds true across the board. Brady Miller is a modern mule deer master, second only to Robby Denning in the modern world IMO. He’s a straight killer and knows how to get it done, so his tips have proven out to me as I’ve started to apply them. Good luck.

OP
J