First deer with a recurve.

I’ve been shooting compounds since 1982. This year I found out several friends were planning to hunt with recurves. It got me thinking about getting one too.

Once the season started and I wasn’t seeing the number of deer I normally see in my public land spots due IMO from the EHD breakout NJ was experiencing so I decided to get the recurve. I had only seen 12 deer total while hunting from September through November. I figured if I got good enough I could hunt winter bow with it and was willing to not fill a tag for the first time in at least 25 years. I bought an EXE Scream 21” ILF riser and paired it with Long Galaxy Bronze Star Limbs. I am shooting uncut GT Hunter 400’s with 225 grains up front and 4-4” feathers with Nockturnal lighted nocks and Original Muzzy 100 3 blade heads.

I got the bow the week before Thanksgiving and below is my first ever group the morning after getting the bow. I practiced shooting 50 shots most mornings before work. After a few weeks of this and having most shots in the ten ring at 10-20 yards I was confident I could kill a deer with the recurve. I hunted with the recurve starting the end of the first week of December exclusively. I would have been able to shoot a doe on New Year’s Eve morning if I had the compound. I had 5 deer come in but never closer than 27 yards. I wasn’t comfortable trying it with the recurve.