Energy for the backcountry

I’m going to be backpacking in for 8 or so days with a buddy, need a way to charge our phones and my camera (Sony RX100).

What’s your go to?

Solar pad deal, rechargeable battery pack?

Complete noob regarding this type of stuff

chizelhead

Lil-Rokslider
I use a battery. Anker 737 Power Bank (PowerCore 24K). I tried solar with a smaller battery, but the solar was unreliable.

If you want the lightest in their capacity class that im aware of, go for the nitecore carbon fiber battery packs. They have 2 sizes, 10k and 20k

If you want the lightest in their capacity class that im aware of, go for the nitecore carbon fiber battery packs. They have 2 sizes, 10k and 20k

What's the reliability on those battery packs? I've used their hc30 headlamp (I think that's the model) for the last 5 years. I had the LED crap out on me in the first one after 3 years.

Jbehredt

WKR
Anker battery packs. I prefer to carry a couple that add up to what I need on a longer trip. Then I’ve got smaller packs to carry for shorter trips and a little redundancy built in.

BBob

WKR
What's the reliability on those battery packs?
Many reports of the Nitecore carbons were somewhat fragile if dropped and some early ones had issues with the charge port/ports breaking. I use Anker's like many. A little heaver but cheaper and tougher. With my gear (iPhone 14Pro and Garmin Mini2) and usage I can easily get 10+ days off a 10K and still have power left. My Petzl headlamp battery is rechargeable but I can go well over a week on one charge.

Many reports of the Nitecore carbons were somewhat fragile if dropped and some early ones had issues with the charge port/ports breaking. I use Anker's like many. A little heaver but cheaper and tougher. With my gear (iPhone 14Pro and Garmin Mini2) and usage I can easily get 10+ days off a 10K and still have power left. My Petzl headlamp battery is rechargeable but I can go well over a week on one charge.