Elk and elevation

For those with experience chasing Rocky Mountain elk, I'm new to this and have lots of random questions, but I'll try not to go too crazy here. I'm aware there are exceptions to every rule, and everyone's had anomalous experiences here and there - just trying compile all the info I can about these guys before my first hunt (antlered first rifle this year, northern CO).

1. Any rules of thumb relating to elk and elevation? Will they go so far as to change elevation for a different temperature range? I'm not necessarily talking large-scale migratory patterns, but maybe a week-long heat wave moving them 2k feet up a mountain. They're obviously hardy animals, and I've heard they don't really go backwards during migration, so maybe they just don't care.

2. I know bulls like to cool off in a good wallow, but how cool does it need to get before that isn't a concern anymore? Do they still do it after the rut? Will they use a wallow even when temps are down around freezing?

3. If you're moving through timber and a bedded elk is alerted to your presence, is he taking off immediately, or might he try to hunker down and let you pass without you noticing him?

4. If there's fresh (black) bear shit in an area, are there still likely to be elk around, or can you bet they've already taken off if there's a bear around?

Now that's a random set of questions lol; excuse my inexperience. TIA!

I don't have a lot more experience than you have, but here's what I've seen over the past 4 years of chasing them in Colorado -