Early September vs Late September Archery

Very much toss up. I have had rut fests on damn near sep 1, and had first 3 weeks be silent.

Have heard a few theories on weather effecting estrus. Bad previous winter, dry spring/summer, hot fall all factors that could effect cow health and feed condition negatively, causing rut to be late. Mild previous winter, wet spring/summer, cold fall causing it to be early.

A few factors that could compound either way, and my experience doesn't proof them out to be total fact either.

But the main factor is simple, sometimes your in em, sometimes your just not.

As a novice I hope to increase my odds by being in CO mountains most if not all of Sept.
That may not even work. Spent most of September there and never heard a confirmed bugle. Glassed one smaller bull and saw a couple of spikes. Seemed to be an off year in the unit I was in. Spoke with a Bammer who has hunted the unit for the last 20+ years and stated he hadn’t heard a bugle either. My first year out and it appears to be a guessing game.

That was a very interesting thread.
I can confirm that last week of September 2023 archery season was very hot, and it was full moon (Sept 29), and the rut seemed dead. Apparently the previous weeks (especially around mid September) had been good (from what I was told by local guides and hunters), with colder nights, cooler days and elk bugling. I hunted the last week of the season 2023.

In September 2022, I was there in early September (hunted from Sept 6-12), and it was very hot too, and I also got the full moon (Sept 10, 2022). There was no bugling until the last 2 days of my hunt (heard the first bugle on the 10th I think). We didn't see any elk during the 6 first days of my 7 days hunt, and we saw our first elk (a group of 5 bulls) on the very last morning.

This year, I will be in Colorado again in early September (Sept 4-10). It might be hot again, impossible to predict.