Douvids, 8/12 or 10/15

c5mrr270

WKR
I'm looking at getting a set of tripod mounted binoculars as I just recently moved to Wyoming and the terrain is way more open than my usual hunting spots. I'd like a set of 15's but I think that's too magnification for a stalk or even some of the more dense places I hunt.

I also don't want to carry two sets of binos with me when I pack in somewhere since that's a huge weight penalty and that's why I'm looking at the douvids. I just can't decide between the 8/12s or the 10/15s. Any help is appreciated.

I'll preface this by saying that I have no experience with either one. With that said I would go with the 8/12 because I think the magnification fits better with the objective lense on the higher mag. Although it still isn't ideal. I'm interested to hear how good the optical quality is of these Binos and hear what other guys have to say that actually have experience with them.

Why not go with a 12x50? A lot of guys say they can hand hold a 12x and say it's great on a tripod. I've heard great things about the Swaro el 12x50...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited:

Broomd

WKR
If you occasionally hunt dense country consider the 8/12s. The wide open Wyo country is conducive to the 15's, but the 12's will likely do just fine. You aren't hunting for smaller coues, etc. anyway.
And your eyes will appreciate the 8 power glass in more think surroundings.

Great choice of glass in the duovids! Your situation is why they made them Let us know how it goes for you.

Steve O

WKR
Classified Approved
I have 10-15 Duovids.

I'd purchase them every single time over 8-12s.

15 is better than 12 in open country and I have never, ever, felt overpowered in any timber with a full sized 10x. Not even bow hunting in northern Michigan.

I love my Duovids for out west and on the tripod.

OP
c5mrr270

c5mrr270

WKR