Do I need to buy a dedicated meat hauler?

Hello all,

I'm fairly new to hunting out west, and I'm not quite at the point where I'm about to head off on weeklong alpine expeditions in search of goats and elk. I will be hunting this coming fall, though, and I can hope to be carrying some elk pieces out of the woods, even if we're just two or three miles away from our vehicles.

I was wondering if I need to buy a pack frame like the Kelty Cache Hauler for that sort of thing. I've been backpacking for a long time, and the biggest pack I have is an 80 liter (4800 cu in) Mountainsmith pack that I actually really like (it replaced a Gregory Palisade, and I like it more). It seems to have a pretty stiff suspension and the construction is solid, at least by REI-type pack standards. Could hauling meat with an 80 liter internal frame pack be feasible? Is that too small, or am I just crazy to think this would be a good idea at all to use a non-hunting pack?

I'm not ready to spend much money, so I've kind of honed in on the Cache Hauler or the LL Bean Hunter Carryall if I decide I need to get a new pack. Someday down the line I can pass one of those on and get myself a Kifaru or Mystery Ranch pack, but not quite yet.

JWP58

WKR
Lots of people use a frame pack like the kelty cache hauler to pack meat. You can always use your backpack to carry out a first load and return with a meat hauler. It would be an economical solution, and tons of people do it.

ams

WKR
Get the kelty. The LL bean will not handle heavy weight well. It's two very thin aluminum stays riveted two a plastic frame sheet. 70 lbs really started to deform the suspension. The kelty will haul whatever you want.

fatrascal

WKR